Skip to main content
Loading Events

New Economy Action Lab: Capitalism & Narrative Change

Date: Jun 04, 2024

Time:

Location: Virtual

New Economy Action Lab: Capitalism & Narrative Change Register

June 4 @ 8:00 am 5:00 pm UTC+0


The New Economy Action Lab (NEAL) will build on the efforts of the Equity & Justice Action Lab to understand the role of funders and wealth-holders in contributing to social justice, starting from the premise that diversity and inclusion initiatives are not a substitute for deeper structural change. Like the New Economy movement itself, the Action Lab will take a broad, intersectional focus, including:

  • Transforming financial systems
  • Transforming business practice
  • Just Transition & climate justice
  • Racial justice & reparations
  • Community wealth-building and ownership
  • Work and equitable access to employment
  • Technology for good
  • Narrative change for systems change

This third session focuses on the questions of how narratives shape the way we understand our history, economy and what success looks like for society. In this session we will: 

  • Explore how narrative efforts can leverage wider systems change. Explore how funders can make capitalist systems more just, by examining several projects & podcasts as case studies.

Speakers will include Ellen McGirt, John Biewen, & Jay Coen Gilbert, all collaborators on the Capitalism Podcast. We will meet Tuesday, June 4 at 9:00am PDT | 12:00pm EDT | 5:00pm BST for 90 minutes. If you have any questions, please contact Sam Underwood at sam@forward-global.org.