Skip to main content
Loading Events

New Economy Action Lab: What is community wealth-building & ownership?

Date: May 01, 2024

Time:

Location: Virtual

New Economy Action Lab: What is community wealth-building & ownership? Register

May 1 @ 8:00 am 5:00 pm UTC+0


The New Economy Action Lab (NEAL) will build on the efforts of the Equity & Justice Action Lab to understand the role of funders and wealth-holders in contributing to social justice, starting from the premise that diversity and inclusion initiatives are not a substitute for deeper structural change. Like the New Economy movement itself, the Action Lab will take a broad, intersectional focus, including:

  • Transforming financial systems
  • Transforming business practice
  • Just Transition & climate justice
  • Racial justice & reparations
  • Community wealth-building and ownership
  • Work and equitable access to employment
  • Technology for good
  • Narrative change for systems change

This second session focuses on the question of “What is community-wealth building & ownership?”. In this session we will: 

  • Why ownership and community wealth-building are crucial elements of building a more just and sustainable system
  • How in practice funders can incorporate community-wealth building into their strategy and due diligence plans, regardless of their topical funding focus 

This session will be led by Forward Global member Chad Dyer in addition to 1-2 community leaders (tbc.) We will meet Wednesday, May 1 at 9:00am PDT | 12:00pm EDT | 5:00pm BST for 90 minutes. If you have any questions, please contact Sam Underwood at sam@forward-global.org.