Skip to main content
Loading Events

How to be an advocate

Date: Jun 06, 2024

Time:

Location: Virtual

How to be an advocate Register

June 6 @ 9:00 am 10:00 am UTC-8


What does the term “advocacy” mean to you as a Next Gen? Is it about attending a protest, funding social movements, supporting policy change, or maybe speaking out for change in your networks or in the sector? Advocacy takes diverse forms and plays a pivotal role in propelling significant social change; yet navigating the intricacies of how to leverage our voices and influence in the sector, or even within our own families and networks, can prove to be challenging. Join us to hear from two fellow Next Gen Forward Global members who have gone through their own journeys to advocate for the change they would like to see in the world. A. Sparks (Masto Foundation) and Sylvie Trottier (Trottier Family Foundation) will share their approaches to advocacy and how they have overcome personal or structural barriers to being the advocates they are today. Gain inspiration and renewed energy for how you intend to leverage your time, talent, treasure, and ties to advocate for change you would like to see in the world. Recommended for Forward Global Next Gen members, aged 45 and under, who are eager to gain insights and learn strategies to navigate the complexities of advocacy within the context of philanthropy and social change.

This interactive Next Gen Action Lab session will be 1 hour long with an optional 15 minutes at the end for peer connection and open conversation on Thursday, June 6 at 9:00am PDT | 12:00pm EDT | 5:00pm BST. If you have any questions, please contact Jaspar Leahy, Program Manager, at jaspar@forward-global.org